Useful? Share it!

2020 school term and holiday dates in Australia

Australian school term dates and holiday dates in 2020Welcome to our full list of term and school holiday dates for each Australian state and territory for 2019.

This list is based on the dates for government schools so if your child attends a non-government school be aware that they might have slightly different dates. Also some year groups finish earlier at the end of the year — so it is a good idea to always double check in these cases.

There is also often a difference between the teachers’ start date and the students’ start date. The dates listed below are the dates the students starts (except for NSW, as the term dates include School Development Days). We have included teacher start and finish dates where the information has been available.

There is also a set number of pupil-free days set aside for Teacher Development. We have accounted for these where they fall at the beginning or end of the term but there will also be dates within the term — check with your school to see when these occur.

2020 school term and holidays dates in Australia

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Term 1: Monday February 3 (new students only)/Tuesday February 4 (continuing students) – Thursday April 9. Teachers commence Friday January 31.
Autumn Holidays: Friday April 10 – Monday April 27 (break includes Anzac Day Public Holiday)
Term 2: Tuesday April 28 – Friday July 3
Winter Holidays: Monday July 6 – Friday July 17
Term 3: Monday July 20 – Friday September 25
Spring Holidays: Monday September 28 – Friday October 11
Term 4: Monday October 12 – Friday December 18
Summer Holidays: Monday December 21 – Monday February 1, 2021 (new students)/Tuesday February 2 2021 (continuing students). Teachers commence Friday January 29, 2021.

New South Wales (NSW)

Terms dates include School Development days at the start of Terms 1,2 and 3 and the last two days of the school year in NSW public schools. Please check with your school as dates may change.

Term 1
(Eastern Division):
Tuesday January 28 – Thursday April 9
Term 1
(Western Division):
Tuesday February 4 – Thursday April 9
Autumn Holidays: Friday April 10 – Friday April 24
Term 2: Monday April 27 – Friday July 3
Winter Holidays: Monday July 6 – Friday July 17
Term 3: Monday July 20 – Friday September 25
Spring Holidays: Monday September 28 – Friday October 9
Term 4: Monday October 12 – Friday December 18
Summer Holidays: Monday December 21  – Tuesday January 26, 2021 (Eastern Division) or Tuesday February 2, 2021 (Western Division)

Northern Territory (NT)

Term 1
(Urban Schools):
Tuesday January 28 – Thursday April 9 (teachers resume Friday January 24)
Term 1
(Remote Schools):
Wednesday January 29  – Thursday April 9 excluding Gunbalanya School (teachers resume Tuesday January 28)
Autumn Holidays: Monday April 14 – Friday April 17
Term 2: Monday April 20 – Friday June 26
Winter Holidays: Monday June 29 – Friday July 17
Term 3: Tuesday July 21 – Friday September 25 (teachers resume Monday July 20)
Spring Holidays: Monday September 28 – Friday October 9
Term 4
(Urban Schools):
Monday October 12 – Thursday December 17
Term 4
(Remote Schools)
:
Monday October 12 – Friday December 18
Summer Holidays (Urban Schools): Friday December 18 – Friday January 29, 2021
Summer Holidays (Remote Schools: Monday December 21 – Friday January 29, 2021

Queensland (QLD)

Term 1
Tuesday January 28 – Friday April 3
Autumn Holidays: Monday April 6  – Friday April 17
Term 2: Monday April 20 – Friday June 26
Winter Holidays: Monday July 29 – Friday July 10
Term 3: Monday July 13 – Friday September 18
Spring Holidays: Monday September 21 – Monday October 5
Term 4: Tuesday October 6 – Friday December 11
Summer Holidays: Monday December 14 – Wednesday January 27, 2021

South Australia (SA)

Term 1
Tuesday January 28 – Thursday April 9
Autumn Holidays: Friday April 10 – Friday April 26
Term 2: Monday April 27 – Friday July 3
Winter Holidays: Monday July 6 – Friday July 17
Term 3: Monday July 20 – Friday September 25
Spring Holidays: Monday September 28 – Friday October 9
Term 4: Monday October 12 – Friday December 11
Summer Holidays: Monday December 14 – Wednesday January 27, 2021

Tasmania (TAS)

Term 1
Wednesday February 5 – Thursday April 9 (teachers commence February 3)
Autumn Holidays:  Friday April 10 – Friday April 24
Term 2:  Monday April 27 – Friday July 3
Winter Holidays:  Monday July 6 – Friday July 17
Term 3:  Monday July 20 – Friday September 25
Spring Holidays:  Monday September 28 – Friday October 9
Term 4:  Monday October 12 – Thursday December 17 (teachers finish December 18)
Summer Holidays:  Friday December 18 – Wednesday February 3, 2021 (teachers Feb 1)

Victoria (VIC)

Term 1
Wednesday January 29 (teacher start Jan 28) – Friday March 27
Autumn Holidays: Monday March 30 – Monday April 13
Term 2: Tuesday April 14 – Friday June 26
Winter Holidays: Monday June 29 – Friday July 10
Term 3: Monday July 13 – Friday September 18
Spring Holidays: Monday September 21 – Friday October 2
Term 4: Monday October 5 – Friday December 18
Summer Holidays: Monday December 21 – January 28, 2021 (teachers start Jan 27)

Western Australia (WA)

Term 1
Monday February 3 – Thursday April 9
Autumn Holidays: Friday April 10 – Monday April 27
Term 2: Tuesday April 28 – Friday July 3
Winter Holidays: Monday July 6 – Friday July 17
Term 3: Monday July 20 – Friday September 25
Spring Holidays: Monday September 28 – Friday October 9
Term 4: Monday October 12 – Thursday December 17
Summer Holidays: Friday December 18 – Monday February 1, 2021

 

Check out more info in our Back to School Hub.

Post your comment

Comment Guidelines : Play nice! We welcome opinions, discussion and compliments. Especially compliments. But remember: the person on the other side of the computer screen is someone's mum, brother, nan or highly intelligent but opinionated cat. We don't tolerate nastiness or bullying. We'll delete disrespectful comments and any replies to them. more

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you have a Gravatar, it will appear next to your comments. Read more about Gravatars here

*

Prove you're human ... *

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

FEATURED SUPPORTER
Baby Car Seats and Infant Car RestraintsBuying a baby car seat? Check out our 'go-to' links here!
FORUMS - chatting now ...
Intralipid infusions Perth WAReproductive Immunology
Transition to bed and no dummy????General Parenting Tips, Advice & Chat
TTC jan 2020Conception & Fertility General Chat
TTC Fertile February 2020Conception & Fertility General Chat
back to top