+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts

Default Laptop question

I’m not tech savvy at all. I can do basic stuff on the computer but no idea about much else.

Anyway...my daughter starts high school next year and I was going to get her a laptop for Christmas but given the current situation I’m thinking I’ll buy her one these holidays as an early birthday present as we were going to go to Melbourne for her birthday weekend next month but I can’t see that happening now.

So my question is...what are the minimum specifications I should be looking for in a laptop in regards to RAM, processor etc.

I don’t mind spending a bit more for a good one that will last a few years.

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    General rule of thumb - bigger numbers will give more memory, faster processing speed etc.

Whether you actually need it is a different matter.

For example, I think an i5 processor would be fine and I don't think you need to worry about an i7.

An SSD drive is supposed will make everything work faster. I think it is worth it, but my DS (who knows a lot about computers) doesn't.

Not sure about the RAM, will ask DS and be back later. I'm pretty sure mine is 8GB of RAM.

What I would definitely spend more money on, is a larger screen and full keyboards ie with separate number pad.

Also, it would be worth find out if the school allow you to purchase your own device or if you need to buy one from the school. Until this year, the highschool mine are at only let devices purchased through the school on the school network.

ETA 8 hour battery life is a must if it is going to school.
    Last edited by SSecret Squirrel; 09-04-2020 at 20:49.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to SSecret Squirrel For This Useful Post: