+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Government benefits - birth of child

Hi all, are there benefits payable to PAYG contractors - i.e. not employed by a company but via a recruiter?

I am not technically self employed but as a contractor on PAYG terms, I don’t get paid when I don’t work. Since getting pregnant in early June, I’ve only worked for 1+ month . So technically speaking I may only have worked 9+ months before I’m due, not quite 10.

Prior to that, I was not working for about 4-5 months coming out of a redundancy. Was taking advantage of the time to focus on getting pregnant.

Am I still potentially eligible for government benefits? As I’m not an employee as such, I’m not entitled to benefits such as maternity leave etc.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Birdface View Post
    Hi all, are there benefits payable to PAYG contractors - i.e. not employed by a company but via a recruiter?

I am not technically self employed but as a contractor on PAYG terms, I don’t get paid when I don’t work. Since getting pregnant in early June, I’ve only worked for 1+ month . So technically speaking I may only have worked 9+ months before I’m due, not quite 10.

Prior to that, I was not working for about 4-5 months coming out of a redundancy. Was taking advantage of the time to focus on getting pregnant.

Am I still potentially eligible for government benefits? As I’m not an employee as such, I’m not entitled to benefits such as maternity leave etc.
    Jumping in even though a few weeks ago, as far as what centrelink told me, you need to be employed by the company and for 12 months to qualify for the government leave if 18 weeks paid.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Simyt View Post