+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Hoping to study nursing

Nursing has always grabbed my attention and would be a interesting job and I have always wanted to do, (I have worked previously as a phlebotomist and have known quite a few that have gone on to nursing) but have always worked up until now, I’m a SAHM of 3 children (6,2,6mths) and have no work to go back to. I’m deciding whether to complete nursing through GoTafe in Benalla, has anyone studied nursing there? Have they completed the CSPA test? How did you cope with the workload and children (if you have children) and the work placement.
    Thanks in advance.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi Emma. I'm studying nursing now. I'm at Uni almost about to finish my RN degree. I have 3 children too but not as young as yours (11, 8 and 4). I've learnt so much and love what I've done so far in placements but the study is hard work. So hard. Do u have support? Partner or family etc. I couldn't have done it without my DH. I've done it full time and that's pretty much all I've done for 3 years. Everything else has been pushed to the side. With a really young family it might be a good idea to look into part time study if u can? Happy to answer any questions

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I'm currently 1st year nursing degree through cquni. I have 5 kids who are 11, 8, 6, 4, 2 and I'm pregnant with my 6th. I do most of my study at night when kids are in bed and during the day when they are sleeping or occupied playing or watching TV. The placement side for us (it may vary depending on the Uni) is broken up into multiple 3-4 week blocks over the duration of the course. I am doing part time, 2 units per study period. I couldn't cope with any more than that.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to SheWarrior For This Useful Post:

L.j (18-10-2018)

Thanks
    Reviews