+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Opinions about basic income?

I’m just really curious to know what others think about the idea of universal basic income.

If you haven’t heard about it before, it’s the idea of a government paying everyone an income to cover basic needs, regardless of your employment status. So wealthy and poor citizens, employed and unemployed citizens alike, receive the same basic living wage. There are all sorts of arguments for and against.

I’ve been thinking about it a lot because it’s being trialled here in Helsinki where I live (but I’m not part of the trial), and as I work as a contractor and am now entering motherhood, I think a basic income would be such a godsend; allowing me to take work when possible but keep food on the table when I can’t work, or when I’m taking time to build different skills. It would cut out all that rigamarole of making complicated applications and updating information to receive benefits (or to find out that I can’t receive benefits) and take away the stress of wondering if I will have a safety net in my future. It just seems like it would be of particular benefit to caregivers.

There’s a good podcast about the trial here that talks about some pros and cons.

Would it work for you do you think? Is it a crazy idea?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I read about the trial and am keen to follow its progress. I think it's a fabulous idea.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Chmeille For This Useful Post:

OSmum2017 (26-09-2017)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OSmum2017 View Post
    Would it work for you do you think? Is it a crazy idea?
    No I don't think it is a crazy idea.

Off the top of my head, on the plus side:
    1. Would mean huge $ savings by getting rid of the Centrelink fraud department.