+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Maternity leave - start/ EDD and questions

Hi all,

everything going well with our screening results in the next 2 or so weeks, I am planning on tell my boss about my pregnancy is 3 weeks time when i hit the 4 months mark.

It is going to be a bit of a tricky conversation as my due date falls about 2ish weeks after my 1 year mark in the company. From what i read, it still entitles me to my 12 months of leave (as we don't have contracts i have to rely on official department information and apparently the estimated due date is all that count). We're very small so no HR, just the boss.

Where i come from, the mat leave start is sort of set in rules so it's pretty easy but it doesn't seem to be the case here in Victoria (or Australia?).

I work as an administrator in a small office. I am at my desk 7.5-hours a day and while i wish i didn't have to deal my boss everyday, it's not very hard or strenuous work. The office is 35 minutes away from home - i drive- and about 10 minutes from my doctor and the hospital.

So I'd like to know:
    - how long before your due date did you stop working?
    - Have you been in a situation where you might stop working before your 1 year mark with a company? Did it go well? Any issues presenting it to your boss?
    - How long before you finish/how far into your pregnancy have you had to confirm your maternity leave dates?

thanks a lot for your help!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    - how long before your due date did you stop working? 3 weeks with #1, 4 weeks with #2.

- Have you been in a situation where you might stop working before your 1 year mark with a company? Did it go well? Any issues presenting it to your boss? No sorry