+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Advice Wanted. Struggling with life as a new Mum to 9 month old

Hello Bub Hubbers,

I am new to Bub Hub and Mum to a happy, cheeky 9 month old baby boy. I feel like I'm struggling at the moment and I'd really appreciate advice and support from other Mamas. I would especially like to hear from experienced parents that are open minded and down to earth. I accept that some people will want to voice their negative opinions especially as I am putting myself out there in order to get advice, but I'm beyond caring and can filter out the negative nellys.

Here it is.... I have postnatal anxiety and have been seeing a Psychologist. I am feeling better and worrying less. The sleep deprivation however continues and I feel exhausted most of the time. The last week has been especially difficult as bub has had a virus.

We tried Bec Judd's $200 an hour midwife which I personally found to be a waste of money. She basically suggested controlled crying which I could have found out from reading Save Our Sleep for $30. We also tried Ngala but that was also basically controlled crying. I am not comfortable with any form of controlled crying - i've tried but it isn't for me.

Co sleeping does not seem to make a difference, maybe because he is bottle fed and just not very cuddly and affectionate - he wants his own space when he sleeps. I can't cuddle him to sleep or rock him to sleep, he only goes to sleep in swing, car or pram - mostly pram. He is a very alert baby and seems to be thriving but the sleep oh the sleep !

A good day goes like this....

6.30 am wake
    9am pram walk and nap for one hour
    1pm nap for 2 hours in pram
    7pm goes to bed on pram walk
    8pm wakes up for milk
    11pm wakes up for milk
    3:30 wakes up for milk