+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default What is reasonable?

My wife and I cannot agree on who should be getting up in the night to give our 5 month old boy his bottle and also who should be up with both of our boys on the weekend. I am very interested to hear some views from the outside world, so here is the situation.
    I leave home at 6.30am and return from work at approximately 6.30pm, Monday to Saturday, Sunday is my day off. My work week is a minimum of 70 hours per week, I have been doing this for the last 3 years without holidays as we have our own small business. I am a butcher so I am on my feet all day.
    We have 2 beautiful boys, 2 years 4 months and 5 months.
    Since 2 days before the due date for our 2nd child, our eldest boy decided that he would not sleep in his bed anymore. A long story short I have been sleeping in the spare room since then and he comes and gets in with me during the night. This allowed for mum and Bub to be together in the main bedroom. It's still happening now 5 months later although recently I have had a couple of nights were he hasn't come in. The youngest one is now sleeping in his cot in his room, he wakes once or twice a night for a bottle.
    Our eldest boy goes to daycare twice a week for the whole day, at the moment my wife doesn't work and is a full time mum.
    Now, at the end of the week I like to sleep in to 9am on the Sunday to get some rest as I spent my week on my feet often doing 8 hours without sitting down. My wife is also very tired as she is raising 2 boys and wants me to get up with the boys at 6am every second week. She would also like me to share getting up during the night to feed our youngest boy.
    What is reasonable? Thoughts pls

hakuna matata is online now The artist formerly know as babyhopeful
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts