+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Won't eat at home, but eats like a horse when out

Does anyone else have a toddler where food is a battle at home & yet they eat like a horse when out?

I literally feel like I'm carrying half the grocery store & it's still never enough & we always have screaming because I've run out of food.

Yet if I offer food before I leave he won't eat it. Or if i have a few things to do but I go home in between & I offer him some food, he won't eat it then either.

And then he's screaming for food as soon as we go out again

The screaming in itself isn't a problem, but if I run out of food & then he's screaming in the car then I struggle to concentrate on driving because I have very little driving experience. So the not eating before we leave is becoming a problem.

Also, depending on where we are going, I'm not always driving, as I currently only drive short distances. Often we are walking to the train etc. So I can't carry half the pantry's worth of food, it's just getting ridiculous.

Anyone else have a child like this? What do I do?

SuperGranny is offline Worlds best grandma! Winner 2012 - Most Helpful Member
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    plan your outings to be in between meals, and make sure you are only out of the house for as short a time as possible. I would carry only some fruit or maybe a sandwich with you for the times in the car. Marie.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I do. He has breakfast & then we go out. I usually offer a small snack before we go but he won't eat it.

This morning I had an appointment, we were out for 3 hours total. He had breakfast before we left. I took a sandwich, a whole cut up plum, a vegimite scroll & some sultanas & dates. He ate all of it & then we still had screaming most of the way home because he wanted more.