+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default How much leave should you take during ivf??

Hi all, just curious to know how much leave you all took off during ivf??
    I'm a childcare teacher so my job is full on trying to work out how much leave to take during ivf.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I took a day off for egg collection as it was a day surgery procedure under light anaesthetic. I developed OHSS so I ended up needing the following week off too. If that hadn't happened it would have just been one day off for egg collection then back to work.
    I also had a day off when I had a hysterosalpingogram.
    I had to have a couple of hours off in the morning when I had my frozen embryo transfer but then went straight back to work.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    It depends what time you start work in the morning. blood tests and scans are done before 8am at your clinic, most people just go before work. I took 2 days off for egg collection and the day of the transfer off. You could get away with just the morning off for transfer, but it's nice to put your feet up after.
    It's hard to organise time off as you don't know dates for the procedures until a few days before.
    My work is very difficult to take time off at short notice, so 1 cycle I took 2 weeks off from the start of my cycle. The other times I just had to line up cover for every possibility and call them in when I knew my dates. It sounds stressful, but wasn't that bad. It helped that I told my boss so he knew what to expect.

Thanks
    Reviews