+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Is society becoming physically weaker?

This stems from a FB post I just saw about babywearing where people were saying that they can't carry their child because they are too heavy. Some people were complaining that 12kg was heavy. I've also seen people say that they can only just carry a baby capsule with a newborn in it.

Working as a GP vet I used to regularly carry 20kg animals and semi regularly would carry more and could lift a 30+ kg newborn calf alone.
    Hubby can carry items that I've seen 2 men struggle with.
    Neither of us work out or do anything extra to maintain this strength so I'm wondering are we abnormal?

As a society are we getting weak? And why? Is it impacting on our ability to function normally (things like carry children or change a tyre)?

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to amyd For This Useful Post:

Little Miss Sunshine  (25-01-2017),Phony  (25-01-2017)

AdornedWithCats is offline Winner 2013 - Spirit of BubHub Award
    Winner 2014 - Best Username

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    Busiest Member of the WeekBusiest Member of the Week - week ended 12/6/15Funniest Caption400 Posts in a week300 posts in a week
    I'm petite and can still carry my ds who is 17.5kg short distances. He is reaching my capacity though. And we carried the capsule up until ds was about 9kg.

I'm not sure about society though...I think when it comes to carrying babies it's about getting used to carrying them. And for some people they probably are using it as an excuse. My baby was 12kg before he could walk! đŸ˜‚