+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Any teacher/librarians here?

Are there any teacher/librarians here on the hub who can describe their role for me...particularly in a primary school. Do you provide release time for teachers or do you work alongside them in planning/teaching? What are your main fault tasks in a school? I'm considering a role change but am not entirely sure whether this might be the way to go. Thanks!

Thanks
    Reviews
    I'm a teacher, not a teacher-librarian but I'll share my thoughts. Different schools may use their teacher librarians in different ways. Our teacher librarian is shared between the middle and junior schools. From what I can see, she takes classes for a period or less for book borrowing and book-based activities. For the older students, she creates research materials to support the assignments us teachers design.

There can be scope for creativity for teacher-librarians as the challenge is to foster a love of reading in kids

Hours are MUCH BETTER than a regular teacher as you probably wouldn't do much prep outside of school hours and no marking/report writing

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Yogis Mumma For This Useful Post:

NAT2561  (11-01-2017)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks. Yes i imagined the conditions might be a bit less home prep than teaching and the role i'm looking at isn't taking classes, only supporting the teacher, so less responsibility in that way i guess.. Can in ask what you mean by "she creates research materials" for older students? Just trying to get my head around it. I have a lot of teaching experience but never in a school with a librarian!! All small schools...often without a library let alone a librarian...ha!

Thanks
    Reviews