+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Part time job - night shift

I applied for a job which I got a call about today, basically saying I was on the shortlist for interviews which they will schedule next week.

It is a night shift role which I have never done before and just wanted to hear from others that work night shift. It is an administration role within a hospital. It would be 3 nights a week one week (in a row) and then the next week would be 2 nights in a row and then an afternoon shift 2 days later.

My oldest would be at school and I have daycare 2 times a week for my youngest. My mum is also around and possibly would be able to help as well.

I've never done night shift before but the job sounds really interesting and I was looking for a change.

TIA

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    My husband works nights ( 5 days straight).

Pros: he likes his work
    He looks after the kids 1 and half days whilst I work during the day
    Cons:
    His 5 nights of work is 6 days of sleep
    His quality of sleep isn't great
    We miss him at night

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    I have been working nights on and off for a few years but nights only for the last year and a bit. I currently do 9 a fortnight but I do usually pick up an extra one or two if needed.

Lack of sleep is a big thing. My job is also quite physical and mentally challenged. I do however sit at the computer for anything between 2 and 3hrs a night due to all the documentation I am required to do.