+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Breaking lease wa

HEY GUYS, we have just brought a new house and have had to break lease , we still have 4 months left on the lease. We have contacted the real estate and informed them,moved out , have cleaned house and advertised on gum tree. The real estate agent does not really want to help out because we are liable for the lease until it ends . Has anyone been in this situation and had a happy ending ?? any advice , whats legal , would be appreciated..cheers stressed mum.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Hi, I used to work as a PM in WA, and while you are responsible for rent etc until the end of your lease, under the act, the agent has to minimise your costs. Therefore they have to advertise and actively be trying to get new tenants. Give the Department of Commerce a call. They should be able to advise of your rights and what the agent has to be doing. IMG_1477726480.295590.jpg

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi Batestella - it happens all the time, and should be fairly straightforward. I'm sure that the PM will advertise for you (they are obligated to) however probably didn't jump as quickly as you would have liked her to? Was it on Friday afternoon?

There are a few other items that you're responsible for, not just the rent. You have to upkeep the gardens, reimburse the owner for the remaining portion of the letting fee (that the agent charged to the owner for your arranging your lease), the security of the premises (for example if it gets broken into and damaged), vermin, water meter reading, etc etc.

Perhaps you could offer a sweetener to any prospective tenants, for example offer to pay their first week's rent once they sign a lease? Just be careful making agreements until you're all sure that they have signed a lease, perhaps pay directly to the agent?

Best of luck.

Thanks
    Reviews