+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default How do you 'prepare' for a c-section

Knowing I'm having a c section I was wondering if I can prepare my body more? Will a better core help etc.. Its just all a bit different to a natural birth and I'm a little nervous thanks

Thanks
    Reviews

I have no experience in preparing for a c-section as mine was an emergency c-section. I had pretty good core and I found that didn't help. Again though they say elective is easier!

I had bub at 9.21am and they had me up walking to the shower around 11-12hrs later. The next morning they encouraged me to move as much as I could and I would do laps around the ward. Pack the big granny undies in a big size so it doesn't sit on your incision. The whole time though the dr kept saying to keep moving.

Good Luck!!

jezikas is offline Mum, House Wife, Student, Employee
    Thanks
    Reviews

I have an emergency Caesarian first and am preparing myself for my second presently. I too have heard the healing rates are different for emergency to planned. Hospitals usually hold a 1 day Caesarian birthing class which my SIL found really helpful and 10mins before my emergency Caesarian I asked my nurse what was really involved and she gave me a booklet on the procedure. Obviously I had no time to read it prior but i have used it post care and still using it now. So see if your hospital has one of these.
    I think the biggest shock for me which I hope to be prepared for this time is as previously mentioned the undies! The higher the waist the further away from your incision. Also really good for putting bandage/padding if you need it.
    Talk about your pain relief prior to as I wasn't given anything and it was assumed I was aware of what I was allowed and the truth is after a bad day panadol and ibuprofen just wasn't enough.