+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Induction starting with insertion of a balloon catheter into the cervix

I'm booked for an induction due to complications with my twin pregnancy next week. The hospital has said the plan will be for a Foley catheter to be inserted into the cervix then a balloon blown up and it stays there overnight to prepare the cervix.
    I hadn't heard of this before and was curious as to people's experiences with it.

Thanks
    Reviews

Subbing.

Sorry I've got no experience with it, but I'm 25+3 high risk pregnancy and been told I'll be induced early with a balloon catheter. Apparently they can't use the gels/drip on me as I've had a previous c-section

Thanks
    Reviews
    I have had this done, it was uncomfortable to get it put in but once it was in it was great.It got me to 3 cms dilated and the they broke my waters

Thanks
    Reviews

Is that the one where they inflate the balloon with water? If so then yes, I had the when I was induced with DD.

They tried the gel first day, that didn't work. So the following day suggested this and I agreed. They said that it would be uncomfortable and offered gas while they did the procedure, lots of doctors and midwives came to watch as it was new to the hosptial so that was a bit weird!

I hate to be negative but I wish I could have heard other people's experiences with it before I agreed. I found it to be very painful and uncomfortable. God was I sucking down that gas! In saying that tho I was very sensitive whilst pregnant with DD so that could have been why.

It was ok once it was in, just felt weird cause you have two tubes hanging out :-/ but I could walk around and everything. It had to be left in for 12 hours and I had very mild contractions through out that time. When they removed it I was 1cm so it did work, by the next morning I was already 3cms. They then broke my waters and put me on the drip. DD was born 5 hours later.