+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default afraid my daugher won't make friends , advice please

dd started school this year. she is in a class with her best friend from preschool. at first i was excited about this but now not so sure. b/f is mother hen type and watches over dd's every move usually holding her around her shoulders to sort of guide her along etc.
    last friday i was early to school as i dropped step daughter off on the way and there wasn't long enough to go back home. so we were 10minutes early. dd was so lost as her b/f hadnt arrived as yet. i tried guiding her to other girls in her room who also looked lost. dd said i can't have more friends or b/f won't be my friend. she hasn't grasped that she can have more than one friend at a time.
    i am not sure if i should talk to the teacherand ask if dd can be sat with somone else occasionally or if i jsut keep out. i have never done this before so am absolutely nervous for my dd

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    When my son started prep,I requested he be in my neigbours class as he knew noone at the school,and hes very shy and hates change!
    In the end,it was a bad thing,and the teacher expressed concern.Luckily they made a new prep class,and neighbour was transferred,and my son did so much better,made new friends,came out of his shell so much more!
    Can you swap classes?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    she will eventually make other friends her bestfriend is just familiar to her at the moment and makes her
    feel safe and happy at school in time they will both make other Friends, I'd wait a bit and if it still becomes at issue then maybe suggest them sitting apart etc

FearlessLeader is offline Winner 2013 - Most Memorable Thread