ADVERTISEMENT

+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Smart Start Shenton Park, Perth - montessori method

Hello

Am wondering if anyone goes here and what they think of it?

There seems to be a lot of unstructured free play time (9-12) and am wondering how much attention your child gets/ how much opportunity there is for social interaction and learning of language etc during this time, not just self-discovery type learning

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you
    Hi Clucky,

I have no specific knowledge of the Perth Montessori you are talking about, but my girls attend a Montessori school so I have a few thoughts on the "unstructured free play time."

"Unstructured" time, as you put it, is actually at the core of the Montessori method. It's not unstructured at all - the child structures their own time dependent on their educational need. The idea of 9-12 as a time in which a child can do 12 activities, or 1, of their own choice and for as long as they want to, is a very important feature of pure Montessori classrooms - it's called the "three-hour work period" and allows children to develop concentration and longevity in their work, by giving them uninterrupted time to complete a task if they are ready to do that.