+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Question advice needed!! coping with uni, work and morning sickness

Hi everyone,

I am about 7 weeks pregnant and am experiencing MS to a considerable degree...feel nauseated throughout the day pretty badly;
    At the moment I'm studying 3 units at uni(which is supposedly full time) and working part time.

Essentially what i'm trying to decide is whether I should continue uni (this is my last semester) or defer..which is for 1 yr max..
    I guess the questions is, would it be easier to cope with my uni workload with an approximately 4 month old baby or should I try to plough through it somehow?
    Sounds like a silly question I know...but I feel sick quite a lot and have had to take days off work and uni during the last week...bit confused.

Any advice is appreciated,thanks!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hmm.. tough one!

I don't have a 4 month old, so I can't comment on the difficulty of uni and work with a bub, but I can say I deferred uni and I kind of wish I had kept going and got another semester out of the way while I was pregnant. Especially since you're so close to finishing!

Have you tried anything for the morning sickness? Ginger and vit B6 worked a bit for me, I had moderate success using Sea Bands. When it got a bit too much I went to the doctor and got a prescription medication for the nausea. My morning sickness ended around 11 weeks, hopefully yours will finish soon too.

Only you know how much you can cope with at this point, and you have to do what's best for you and your body, but I'd be inclined to do the last semester now and get it out of the way. Best of luck with whatever you decide!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I was in exactly this position 2 years ago - except I already had one child (not sure if you do?)

My pelvis went really bad at 5 mths so I quit work and continued uni.