+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Uni degree with young children

Im thinking about doing a uni degree but i have young kids. So is full time study everyday like school hours? How does the timetables work? Also anyone done a degree part time? My course would be 9 yrs that seems forever

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    It depends what you are studying. I finished an Arts degree with young kids and that was ok, I was part time. Science-based courses have a lot more contact hours and many courses also require you to do placements which also may not be in school hours.

What are you planning on studying?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I have 5 children, the youngest being 18 months, and studying full time online

i couldnt imagine having to go to campus.

i use the Jet Scheme which allows for 2 days per week day care nearly free.

study late into the night.

study with baby on lap

I make do.. cause i want it enough.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    i guess it depends on what you are studying. I did an undergrad psych degree part-time and off-campus (which meant no labs or placements). I found that it gave me something to focus on that wasn't baby related and the stimulation I felt I was missing.

How do you do it? I did a lot of study at night time when the kids are in bed or during days when dh is home to watch them and I could sneak out to the library.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I was working full-time and studying full-time by correspondance when I fell pregnant and had DD1. Then fell pregnant again and had just had DD2 when I finished that first degree. I remember it was hard work but I am truly unsure how I actually managed it all.