+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Question for those ladies who have gone/are going Private?

Hi Ladies,

I am going private and as this is my first time I dont know what happens with clamining from medicare? I know you can claim money from them especially once you reach the threshold for the year...... I think i'll be paying $3000 all up or just more.

Do you take your receipts into medicare as you go along, do you save them all up and take them in at the end or is this something that you claim from the govt at tax time??

If someone could shed some light for me that would be great cause im clueless!

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Firstly, you have to register with medicare for the 'safety net', so they keep a record of how much money you have spent out of pocket. This is very easy and can be done online.

Once you're registered, its totally up to you whether you want to claim as you go, or wait until you have a lot built up and claim then. It will make no difference to the amount you eventually end up getting.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I take my receipts for my antenatal visits into medicare as I go along but as chicken says it doesn't matter if you did it all at once. I was encouraged by my obs secretary to pay my PG maintence fee as close to due as possible(but by 37 weeks) so I would be closer to reaching the safety net and get a greater percentage of that fee back from medicare. Last time I got 1200 out of 1500 back.
    Once in hospital for delivery I paid my HI excess and that was all the out of pocket expenses I had.
    HTH.
    Oh just remebered the lady at the GP said that you can only save up to 500 worth of receipts to claim at one time, so worst case you would just go back the next day to claim to rest

Thanks
    Reviews