+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Colds and Flu's with bub

Hi all,

I am just wondering how you know when bub is sick with cold symptons. Hubby has given me the flu and i am sitting here with a raging sore throat, temperature and can not sleep

I am so worried and upset that DS won't be able to tell me (I probably sound ridiculous but I am deliriously tired) and what can they be given.?? I know there is baby panadol but I've been taking panadiene with no effect, is there anyway you can soothe a bubs throat- can't exactly have a strepsil!!

Should I just watch his temperature? I personally don't go to the Dr for a cold as its something I believe runs its course and then goes, but should babies go regardless?

Sorry if I sound paranoid- I'm new to all this mummy stuff.

Ta xx

Thanks
    Reviews
    I find the hardest thing when babies get a cold is that they get all stuffed up and have trouble breathing through their nose. This can cause them to have difficalties feeding and sleeping. I use saline spray, vaperiser and vicks baby balsom to help relive nasel congestion. You can also use infant Dimatap or Demazon which is an antihistamine to help clear up the nose.
    Babies can go down hil fast so it is important to watch for signes your baby is getting worse and take then to the doctor. I take them to see a doctor if they have a moderate temp(above37.5) for more than 24 hours or a high temp( above38.5) for more than 4 hours, also if they have decreased wet nappies which may indicate they are dehydrated.
    With my fist I rushed her off to the doctor for every cold, sometimes its nice just to get reasurance that they are ok.

Thanks
    Reviews