+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default A bit stuck - my working from home conundrum

Hi there,

right before I start off I need to say that I have already worked out I make a terrific 'worker / employee' I am definately externally motivated! Some part of my work-from-home dilema comes from not having a high degree of self-motivation / self imposed routines etc.

The situation:
    I am currently a non-active consultant for a scrapbooking party-plan / direct sales organisation. I love the products, I use them, I've been doing it for 3 years but without a lot of success or a lot of real focus on my part.

I also have recently been selling items (mostly secondhand books) on ebay and finding that I enjoyed the process but was only 'breaking even' though potentially could make some pocket money.

Recently we had my dd's naming ceremony and I tried my hand at icing a fruitcake / mudcake for the event (my mum used to do this and I haven't done a cake since my teenage years). I discovered not only could I do it, but it looked professional and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute!

So these are my 3 main work from home possibilities as I see it.

I am having issues though with all of them to a greater and lesser extent.

I have worked out that my main success in the past with being a good salesperson / effecient at what I do is having a really good understanding of the sytem in which I am working in. I work this by always having a response for a 'no' e.g. in the past I did admin and worked at account reconciliation for a qld-wide organisation. When I needed to get documentation in from a remote office, I had a 100% success rate - with one place I eventually had to get the financial manager to sign a memo to the office but it got the results - they turned the place upside down and sent the paperwork in.