+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Question Want to study nursing - where do I start?

I'd love to start a nursing course but I'm a bit lost as to where to start and what the course is called exactly. I've tried searching online, but it's all very confusing.

1. Where do I start? What course do i enrol in? What is the difference between and bachelor and undergrduate and postgaduate and degrees? Which one would I start with?

1. Can you do nursing online? I don't want to put DD into childcare just yet. (I assume you would need to go in a do prac from time to time but the theory could be done at home.)

3. Does it help that I have a diploma in Early Childhood (Dipolma of Community Services)?? I thought I read somewhere that it could help get you accepted?

If someone could point me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated!

Thanks

I live in Sydney

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    If you wanted to be an RN _ Registered nurse, you have to do a uni course.. and EN or EEN - Enrolled (Endorsed Enrolled) nurse is TAFE. Uni is usually 3 years, TAFE is 18 months -2 years...
    Having a Diploma will help you get in, so you would have to just check with the uni you want to apply at.
    External nursing is done through University of SA, Charles Darwin Uni (I think) and James Cook Uni (I also think..) You can apply for interstate uni's, but you will have to travel there for week long workshops once or twice a year. I have heard it is harder for people with prac if in an interstate uni as they have had to organise any placements themselves.

If you are doing a Bachelor degree you are classified as an undergraduate.... post grad is when you have done your degree, but doing more once you have finished.
    HTH

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi there!