Letting kids take toys to school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Letting kids take toys to school

Do you let your kids take toys to school?

What are the rules at your school concerning this and what is your stance on it?

Our school discourages it, and I completely see why. I don't let DS take form of toys to school, even little things.

Nope, not allowed, thankfully.
    It becomes too competitive if they do, and inevitably the toys get lost or broken.

I’m thankful this is one less thing we need to worry about.

Comment

Toys aren’t allowed at our school. Soccer balls/handballs etc are ok but toys got banned many moons ago. I support the rule, I don’t think there’s any need for kids to take toys to school and it can cause issues, the biggest one being lost/stolen toys.

Comment

I don't let DD take toys to school at all. I have been a teacher in the past and seen many fall outs over toys brought to school and it just isn't worth it.

Last year it was a major discussion between myself and my daughter as many other children were taking everything and anything to school and she felt excluded from her group of friends as she was the only one who didn't take anything. The school did try and discourage it but weren't consistent with it.

Comment

Not allowed by the school unless it's for a reason (show and tell theme, theme days like teddy bears picnic etc). And even if it was allowed, unless for the reasons mentioned above, I wouldn't let my kids take them anyway.

Comment

This one drives me nuts as a kindergarten teacher. Parents allowing it and then the item is put away by a teacher and the kid get a upset.. Parents setting the kids up for upset as they can't say no themselves dispite.knowing where we stand.

Comment

Oh god I wish they would ban it here.