We have switched the forum back on - but we are still in testing phase, so please be patient with us. The forum may be slow initially but should speed up soon. If you spot any technical errors, post them in the technical issues section towards the bottom of the forum. We'll be working hard to get everything working perfectly as soon as we can.
|
|
||||
|
||||
|
As some of you may have read in the Dec mums thread, I was becoming anxious that our babe wouldn't arrive before christmas and after two previous early arrivals I had fully expected another early one-but not to be. I had been feeling odd for a couple of days and had had a show on Thurs arvo, so was making some progress. Friday evening around 7pm, I had about an hour of contractions 6 mins apart, so DH rang his mum (who was in the city at Carols) and also our support friend who was coming to the birth. Of course all contractions stopped after this so I went to bed resigned to another false alarm. I had a last phone call to my friend telling her don't worry, I think you'll be having a quiet night. 10.45pm and I woke to a very bitey contraction followed within 5 mins another and another and etc... Action stations and phone calls and a five minute ride to hospital that included my water breaking and about five more contractions. Another three or four between the carpark and the birth room and it was all on! I spent about ten minutes trying to find a headspace to cope as it was pretty intense then got in the shower with DH and friend who kept up the hot water on my aching belly for about half an hour by which time I was professing loudly I am never going to do this again-in between wailing like an opera singer and howling like a banshee, which by the way got me through each contraction. I made it to the bed and flopped over the bedhead stuffed with pillows and the pushing began in earnest. Actually I wasn't trying very hard, my body was pushing despite my trying to slow it down. The head emerged and very quickly the rest of our babe, who was presented between my legs where I scooped him up in wet ball and cried along with DH and friend. The whole labour was about 3 hrs with the pushing stage about 14 mins. We eventually looked to see what sex baby was and got excited all over again. A very intense drug-free, tear-free, stitch-free birth! Cuddles with daddy while I had a shower and then mummy and baby crawled into bed for a feed and rest.
Hamish and I came home that afternoon to spend christmas eve as a new family of five. HAMISH ANDREW 24th DEC, 2005 AT 2.19am 8 lb 2 oz 51cms ABSOLUTELY PERFECT IN EVERY WAY ------------------------------------------------ Sal-Me Darryl-DH Tristan-DS 7yo Ella-DD 5yo HAMISH-DS 24-12-05 |
|
|
||||
|
||||
|
Congratulations
What a great Xmas present
|
||||
|
||||
|
CONGRATULATIONS,
what a wonderful birthing story. And what fabulous timing ![]() Best wishes to your family and to Hamish, welcome Hamish
|
|
|
||||
|
||||
|
Wow Congratulation's that is great.
what a Chrissy present hay...
|
||||
|
||||
|
Santa arrived early for you! Wonderful, congrats Sal
cheers Jen
|
||||
|
||||
|
Congratulations Sal and Darryl & welcome little Hamish, a beautiful baby boy for you and a little brother for Tristan and Ella!! Enjoy your special Christmas together!
|
||||
|
||||
|
Congratulations! What a powerful birthing mama you are! Welcome earthside, wee boy
|
|
|
|||
|
|||
|
Congratulations!!!!
So, did he come home with a big bow and tinsel on him? What a perfect Chrissi prezzy.You did great coping with such a fast, strong labour, well done! |
|
|
||||
|
||||
|
Congratulations on the birth of Hamish!!!!
|
|||
|
|||
|
Congratulations. Hamish is a great name
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Display Modes | |
|
|