Default Question about tummy time

My bub is nearly 14 weeks old and I generally try to give him tummy time every second day. Problem is he hates it and will only last about 30 seconds before he starts crying. He has fairly good head/neck control but will automatically put his head face first into the rug when I put him on his tummy. The only other time he gets any tummy time is when he falls asleep on my chest. I'm concerned that he won't develop the right muscles to crawl if I don't give him more tummy time but don't know how to do it without him crying. I've tried distracting him with toys etc but he's not really interested. Am I worrying about nothing or does anyone have any suggestions for increasing the tummy time?

You can always try laying on your back on the floor and resting bubs on you that way. If he doesnt like it straight away, try sitting up and cuddles, then liftening him so hes trying to balance(ever so gently of course) and then work your way tro on the floor and him doing tummy time on your tummy.

You can also always check with the MCHN she is there to help you, just some dont know how to show it.

Best of luck
    Stay at Home Mumma
    Alexander James
    Mary Catherine
    Caitlinn Elisabeth
    Connor Stanley
    due 30th of July

As last person said, try laying bub on you.
    Also on your bed so you can get down on the floor and be face to face.
    Try putting a rolled up towell under his chest.
    Use a safety mirror on the floor for him to look at.
    Do you masssage bub, or even just rub cream/oil on after a bath? Use this time to put him on his tummy on the change table while you stroke his back and legs.

Hope that helps a little. I wouldn't worry though, he'll eventually start to enjoy it. Just do it for as long as he enjoys it for, then flip him over to his back.
    Jem & Scott
    Zack 4...lego addict.
    Leigh 3...such a dag!

Evie 12 months...our beautiful baby girl, fighting Leukaemia every day.

I just skipped it. He didn't like it so I didn't see the point in pushing the issue. I carried him a lot so he had plenty of chances to practice holding his head up then... and once he started rolling on his own.

Guess what? He's 2.5 years old now and can hold his head up all on his own

Seriously, I reckon its a bit of a crock... I don't think every mother in the world does tummy time, yet you don't see many people around that have trouble lifting their heads up

Don't worry yourself too much over it. It's great you are doing some. Even little bits like 30 seconds all add up. You will find down the track that your baby suddenly begins to like it. It took ages for mine to start enjoying it. Whether you give them specific 'tummy time' or not, they will learn to crawl.

I've also read it is not that necessary to concentrate on tummy time....bubs is quite spewy so I have neglected tummy time...when I did do it he just plonked his face on the ground - except when on a zoo pillow. About 2 days ago I put him on the ground for a go and he held his head perfectly upright and is dragging his knees up under his body....bubs all get there in the end....
    Mel - 32
    James - 30
    Lachie 20/12/06

Oblena is offline I've done it in public and I'll do it again - I don't care who sees!
    Maybe try lots of incidental tummy time. I did this for DD to get her used to it. This includes 30 seconds at every nappy change - I did this while I rubbed the alcohol antiseptic on my hands (you can then increase the time). Also when drying after the bath, flip bub on to tummy to dry the back.

I also have a squeaky toy on the change table for bub to play with while on the tum.

Lots of time on your chest is good too. All of a sudden you will find that bub is happier with more that 30 seconds.

If you have one of those exercise balls you could try some games where you hold bub on it for some time - maybe singing row row row you boat or something similar

Good luck and don't get too stressed about it - babies seem to do what they need in the end anyway

What impact will you have on another person's day?

Tummy time in important, but there are so many ways to do it as other people have suggested (like putting the towel under his chest or laying him on you or trying to be face to face laying down). It's not only about muscle strength for lifting their heads up, but also to help prevent the development of flat heads (which can occur if they are on their back all the time).

Another way to try it:
    - sit on your bed or the floor with your back supported and your knees bent so that your feet are flat on the floor, then put bubs on your shins so that his head is at the top of your knees. This way he's nice and close to you and can see your face too.

There is no point persisiting longer than he is willing to tolerate it, but try it frequently in small bursts throughout the day rather than trying to get him to do it for a longer amount of time every couple of days.

And it's sometimes nice to have them fall asleep on you chest, so enjoy those times too!!!
    Ally
    DH - Ian
    DD - Chloe (born 16/05/06)
    - due 02/10/07

Thanks everybody for your replies. I've tried a few of your suggestions already and will continue trying the others. Other than that I guess I'll take some of the other advice and just not fret about it.

i always try to lay in front or beside my baby. and chat to them to coax them to lift their heads to look at me.... or jsut to turn their head....
    Mummy- Katherine(22) Valentine Daddy- Jeremy(26)
    Dean Issac- 11th August 2004(2.11)
    Corey Andrew- 14th January 2007(.6)