Thread: Teacher aide

Default Teacher aide

Does anyone know of a cert III in Education Support/teacher Aide that is avaiable through correspondence. If so has anyone done this course? Is it any good?
    Anyone working as a teacher aide? what is it like? I am currently a childcare worker and have been for a about 4 years...on maternity leave but thinking of going back to study instead of work?
    Just looking at my options.
    I have deffered a place at uni to do bach of social work...but not real sure on the job prospects and it is 4 yrs stufy full time...so part time would take a lot longer...my heart isn't in it 100%.
    Us and 2 little cherubs
    "wouldn't trade being a mum for a million dollars"

Im doing a teacher's aide course through Thompson Education Direct. All via correspondence. So far its been brilliant. THe first few modules were a little boring but other then that it seems good.

I chose it as I could pay by the month. Very handy.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former

Albert Einstein

Default i work there!!

hehehe....i work there...well i am on maternity leave & YES it is a great centre ( i am most likely going to send Keanu there, however wanted opinions of other places too)....i worked in bubs room for 2 years, toddlers for a little bit and senior kindy. It's an awesum centre, the girls are great. I am great friends with the toddler Group Leader...lol....hehe
    that's funny!!
    Last edited by MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt; 05-04-2007 at 20:45. Reason: woops wrong thread
    Us and 2 little cherubs

I haven't done education support (although I want to!!) I can tell you it's available through the toowoomba tafe, via correspondence. It's not needed for a teacher aide position but a qualification (in ANY field, not just edu support) is needed to advance up the pay-scale.

I work as a teacher aide and I absolutely love my job. I have had the pressure put on me lately to get my teaching diploma but why would I want to?? I get to go to work at 8, leave at 4. I don't take any work home with me. I don't need to plan. My weekends and Holidays are spent with my feet up. And yet I still get to see that little light switch on in a child's head when I'm teaching them something.
    It's truely a rewarding job - maybe not so much in the money stakes but sometimes you don't need that to be wealthy. (As I said to the kids on Friday when I did their spelling test)
    Nikki ~ Chris
    Space Cadet Cobey C. (18/7/06)

Wiggle Worm Eva D. (28/5/09)

Seekrit - hi!!

Thanks for the info, i will look into it...what is the pay like? if u don't mind me asking. I am a childcare worker so use to 'not so great' pay....
    Thanks jackie
    Us and 2 little cherubs

the pay's not too bad I guess... I work a 55 hour fortnight* for $1000ish gross.

*55 hour fortnight + extra hours unpaid in that week in order to continue to be paid on the holidays.
    Last edited by Seekrit; 06-04-2007 at 20:26.
    Nikki ~ Chris
    Space Cadet Cobey C. (18/7/06)

Wiggle Worm Eva D. (28/5/09)

I'm in the same boat as jack_0306, so I was interested to read the responses.

I've heard though that it's quite hard to get a Teacher's Aide postion as it's such a great job! Seekrit, how did you find your job? I mean, was it advertised, word of mouth etc.
    iyart yhtmtoyh fu

yeh that would be interesting to know...what the job prospects are like...Maybe i will just stick to doing my diploma in childcare...i know the job prospects are great for that...i do a 38 hr fortnight and bring home about $1000 flat after tax - when working that is...currently on maternity leave...oh and that is as assistant....however i reckon i would love being a teacher aide...as i have always wanted to do teaching.....??so will see.....
    Us and 2 little cherubs

I'd love to be a teacher aid for all the reasons that Seekrit mentioned. Being able to be there for the "lightbulb" moments, but not being responsible for the class - the planning, testing, meetings, profiles yadda yadda yadda.

I don't know if anyone would ever give my a chance at that position though. After working as a teacher and a childcare group leader (I have a B. Lang and B. Ed in EC) I'm going to look a bit over qualified.

I won't be going back to full time teaching until Sarah is much older, if ever. Teaching is not a job, it's a lifestyle - and one that you have to give 110% to at all times. I know that I can't make that sort of commitment anymore now I have my own family to take care of. There are plenty of wonderful women (and men) that do manage to juggle both and I take my hat off to them. But I know that I couldn't do it, and that wouldn't be fair to either my family or a class of other people's kiddlets.
    iyart yhtmtoyh fu

im with you faeml, would love to be a teachers aid but am also a lil over qualified....will definately look into it once the kids are older.
    Me~ Proud Single Mumma turning 30
    DS~ almost 4
    DD~ Shes One!