Default Hot Hot Hot Brisbane Breastfeeding

Hey there,

Just wondering, it is really hot up here in Brisbane at the moment and DS (four months) is sweating quite a lot from his head. I am a bit worried that he is going to get dehydrated. Now I am drinking a whole lot more water, but DS doesn't seem any more interested in feeding than usual.

I keep offering him extra feeds (I BF exclusively) and water in between feeds but he doesn't seem interested. His behaviour hasn't changed at all, he is happy and active when awake. He is perhaps sleeping a little more than usual and weeing a little less.
    His little fontanelle does not look sunken.

Are there any signs that I need to look out for with dehydration?
    ali
    luka - jul 18/05
    felix - mar 16/07

Oh veve- I am ever thankful to have a friend as glorious, gorgeous and just plain adorable as you!

My experience of exclusive breast feeding two little ones in the heat is that they are pretty good at taking what they need. Signs that things aren't good are the drier nappies, crankiness and if it is getting bad, lethargy. But if you keep offering him the breast and he is happy and weeing normally, all is fine.

I agree with Draught. As long as you keep offering and all else seems well, I'm sure he's fine. It is such a horrible time of year, I want winter back!!!

drewid is offline Meet the amazing boy who falls asleep with a sandwich in his mouth!
    My 9 month old is sweating up a storm in sweltering Brissie as well. All his crawling and climbing and pulling up isn't helping matters either!

I find he's not really demanding any more boob, but he is in love with drinking (and dribbling!) cool water from his straw cup. He is having probably 1/3 cup of water between each feed and with solids meals.

But yeah..if your bub isn't drinking water, you should still be fine. Your milk automatically adjusts to the climate. Just make sure YOU are drinking heaps of water and all should be fine!

DD - 24.8.2011
    DS - 22.2.2005
    LJ 25.3.2008 Ectopic

Something that he might want to do in hot water is to feed more often, but not for very long. What he is doing is getting the fore milk (very watery milk), but isn't too interested in the hind milk (creamier and fattier). So don't get too upset if he starts "snacking". He's drinking and not "eating".

xkwzit
    FORUM MODERATOR

AM is offline Winner 2009 - Mod Award - most supportive member
    Question those who don't question authority
    I had my son in Brisbane 2 years ago when we had those 42 degree days, and most other days were 38 degrees, and i never supplemented with water, for sweats, I just used to wash him down a lot, and jump in the bath with him.
    Water is not recommended for babies under 6 months of age, as your breastmilk is perfect at changing it's makeup to siut thirst or hunger, and as a bonus you are still getting nutrition, unlike with water.

Have a look at this article for clarification.

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/so...aby-water.html
    Homebirthing full term breastfeeding mama to three gorgeous boys

Having a two-year-old is like having a blender that you don't have the top for. ~Jerry Seinfeld

I had dehydration issues the other day, you might want to check out the thread I posted under nappy related topics titled 'how many wet nappies', it has a small list at the bottom of it as to what you should look out for in regards to dehydration.