Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Brisbane Suburbs - Where to live?

Hi There,

I currently live in Tassie but we are moving to Brisbane in a couple of months and would like to buy a house for under $280,000 - doesn't give us much choice I know. Can anyone give me advice on nice suburbs and those to avoid?

I have a 2 month old and a 21 month old so am looking for a family friendly area with parks and shops not too far off. I want to join playgroups, kindy gyms, etc. too when we get up there but I figure they're probably in most suburbs.

My husband lived in Brisbane once in the Logan City area which he likes but looking at real estate on the web Forest Lake looks nice (& is in our price range!). My husband hasn't been back to Brissie for nearly 8 years and only really lived in the one spot so he's not sure either.

If anyone can offer some advice I'd be grateful. No more than 45-60 mins into the CBD by public transport is preferable as my husband will be working in town.

Thanks again,
    Kate

Forest Lake isn't too far out! The nearest train station would be Darra but I am not sure what the buses are like.

I live at Redbank Plains and I love it here. The houses out here are very affordable and is only about 40 min by train to the city. It is very family friendly and the new Orion shopping centre is opening just down the road
    We moved from Sydney 3 years ago and I feel so settled here now, heaps of friends and a great playgroup.

Hope you find somewhere you like
    Narelle,
    Mother to
    Jacinta April 02
    Nathan Oct 04

I agree Rell if you are in Forest lake, you would be looking only maybe 30mins on the train to the city from Darra station not too far at all and there are regular bus services at Forest Lake.
    We live in Camira ( 23kms from CBD and close to Forest Lake, Springfield and Redbank etc) and you can still get a decent house out here for under $300K.
    My DH works in CBD and drives in everyday takes him 30mins in the car in heavy traffic.
    We have bought here and love it.
    Brissy is fortunately one of the only cities now that you can buy a decent house for under $300k (so long as you look outside the CBD of course) so you shouldn't have too much prob finding something you like
    I'd get on realestate.com.au and do a Brissy search in your price range that will give you a good idea!
    Julie 27, DH 26, Xavier- 5.5 Ezekiel - 3.5!
    Scarlett 1yr old! PLUS our surprise baby Due September 2011!

We are in Logan and there are good spots and bad spots. Springwood & Rochedale are good areas as there is a large commercial/trades area, shops, parks etc. Its very close to the freeway so half hour to city or 45 min to gold coast. Other logan suburbs that are good - Chatswood, Daisy Hill, Loganlea, Meadowbrook, Waterford, Edens Landing, Bethania.

There are suburbs to avoid - however in saying that there will always be good streets in those bad suburbs (I should know I live in one LOL). On a general basis probly try avoid Eagleby, Woodridge (Logan Central), Kingston, Beenleigh has some rough pockets and so does Crestmead.

If you do decide on somewhere in Logan and you want advice on the street or even house in particular just ask (PM), Im local and dont mind going for a drive for you. We moved from Perth to Brisbane Dec 05 and bought our house over the net - it really helps to have a local scout IYKWIM

Kel
    Me:Kelly (31) DP:Grant (32)
    DS:Seth 27/3/05
    M/C 15/3/08 SweetPea EDD 12/11/08 M/C 24/9/08 JellyBean EDD 25/05/09
    Im a loving, cuddling, formula feeding, separate sleeping, dummy allowing, disposable nappy using, smacking, DVD & treat bribing, hospital birthing, PND surviving, sarcastic, stay at home mumma.

Mariposa is offline Winner 2008 - most helpful moderator/administrator
    we live in centenary suburbs (forest lake is bout 10mins away) only takes 20mins (no traffic) to get to the CBD. great areas here, lots of parks, close to shops etc very family orientated surburbia place. we moved here 4years ago. wouldnt move anywhere else. love these areas.

riverhills/jamboree heights is pretty good, for the price your after/ ypu may also get lucky in middle park and jindalee for those prices, pending on the type of house and its ammenities your after. definitely check out realestate.com.

Maria, Cris, Brianna, Natalia & Angelina

Thanks for your reply. I looked at some houses in your area on the web - it does look nice - will keep it in mind. With two littlies we really want to get settled as soon as we get to Brissie so all this research helps.

May send Tim ahead to check things out before we come up. Did you guys rent first or were you able to pick a good spot before you arrived in Brisbane?
    Me (31) DH (46)
    DD1 (5) DS (3) DD2 (2) DS2 (7 months)

Thanks for your help. Any idea about Darra, Doolandella or Inala? They seem very cheap on the web.
    Me (31) DH (46)

We need a 4 bedroom place so they are dearer - lots in Kingston though actually - I am hoping on one of the good streets!!

(thought I could reply to each post individually but can see now how its done - bit of a forum newbie!)
    Me (31) DH (46)

From what I have herd Inala and Doolandella are places to avoid.
    Narelle,
    Mother to
    Jacinta April 02
    Nathan Oct 04

Yeah avoid Inala!!
    Kped I actually live in Kingston. Its known for its bad parts but where we are is actually closer to meadowbook & slacks creek so much better spot. If you need advice on streets just let me know.

Oh and to reply to an individual post, just click on the 'Quote' button on the bottom of the post.
    kel
    Me:Kelly (31) DP:Grant (32)
    DS:Seth 27/3/05
    M/C 15/3/08 SweetPea EDD 12/11/08 M/C 24/9/08 JellyBean EDD 25/05/09
    Im a loving, cuddling, formula feeding, separate sleeping, dummy allowing, disposable nappy using, smacking, DVD & treat bribing, hospital birthing, PND surviving, sarcastic, stay at home mumma.