Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Brisbane Suburbs - Where to live?

Hi There,

I currently live in Tassie but we are moving to Brisbane in a couple of months and would like to buy a house for under $280,000 - doesn't give us much choice I know. Can anyone give me advice on nice suburbs and those to avoid?

I have a 2 month old and a 21 month old so am looking for a family friendly area with parks and shops not too far off. I want to join playgroups, kindy gyms, etc. too when we get up there but I figure they're probably in most suburbs.

My husband lived in Brisbane once in the Logan City area which he likes but looking at real estate on the web Forest Lake looks nice (& is in our price range!). My husband hasn't been back to Brissie for nearly 8 years and only really lived in the one spot so he's not sure either.

If anyone can offer some advice I'd be grateful. No more than 45-60 mins into the CBD by public transport is preferable as my husband will be working in town.

Thanks again,
    Kate

Hi, I actually live on the gold coast but worked in brisbane.

So don't anyone view my head off but this all depends on your money status. If you can, avoid any name with logan in it, logan lea logan central beenleigh woodridge kingston marsden etc. these areas have a high un employment, low socioeconomic status, poorer housing etc. great community vibe though.

The closer you get to the city the more money you will pay of course. Check out the train line areas too.

The gold coast corridor as it's called is a great family area with lots of schools, new houses, shops etc but poor public transport and often the roads are heavy tragic areas.

Any bayside areas are lovley. Toowong area cops a lot of bad weather for some reason and....beware of really cheap river side areas because of flood damage or threats. You may not be eligible for insurance.

Not familiar with the northside but hope this helps.
    Sent from my GT-I9100 using BubHub
    DH - 31
    Me - 25
    DD1 - 22 March 2010
    DS1 - 10 June 2012

3. The Following User Says Thank You to chookylaa For This Useful Post:

ishamj8892 (23-04-2012)

how far is the gold coast from brisbane?

The very top is about 40 minns and kms from the city. The centre of the coast is about 1hr. Ppl do the drive/ commute though it's common.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using BubHub
    DH - 31
    Me - 25
    DD1 - 22 March 2010
    DS1 - 10 June 2012

Bonkers is offline wishes she was a glow worm. A glow worm's never glum, 'cos how can you be grumpy when the sun shines out of your bum?
    I live in redcliffe. There are a lot of druggies here it's stupid. If I could pick where I live right this second ild live in sandgate or Brighton right on the bay. Or ild go up north to the sunshine coast.

Boobycino is offline Bubhub Award Winner - 2011- Best Username
    Boobies temporarily decommissioned until further notice.
    I'm in the gold coast, you'll get good value around coomera, ormeau, oxenford, areas. and it's not a long way to the city - though I've never driven it in peak hour.
    Princess Katelyn - My Successful VBAC Baby - 09/03/12
    Jasper Turbo - Beautiful Booby Boy weaned at 3 - 19/11/08

Quote Originally Posted by Boobycino View Post
    I'm in the gold coast, you'll get good value around coomera, ormeau, oxenford, areas. and it's not a long way to the city - though I've never driven it in peak hour.
    I do the peak hour commute 3 days a week. From Upper Coomera it's about an hour & 20 min. Non peak it's about 50min.

There is a train line too that's about an hour I think.
    Me + DH =DS1 (2009) DS2 (2011)

What's your budget? See I'd rather pay more for a house and less for transport. I live in the inner north 7km from the city. We only have the one car and I can walk everywhere. Plus I live near a train and major bus routes.

When you factor in the cost of a second car with fuel registration insurance and servicing it worked put cheaper for us to live closer to town but pay more for a mortgage.

We have an investment property in mt gravatt (14km out, 15min drive, 20min bus from the city) and it's never empty. It's a good area, lots of schools, shops, govt services and flood free. It's a mixed use area so it's not like you are living in a housing estate which would be torture for me.

We would rather live in our investment property than where we are but being on the northside near hubby's work meant only one car was needed (he rides his bike to work) and not that often either.

Bayside suburbs are pretty but bus services aren't great so make sure you are near a train line. Avoid wynnum. Wakerley is fine.

I like greenslopes, holland park, coorparoo, mt gravatt, tarragindi, Fairfield (can flood) and wishart. Eight mile plains is further south but still easily commutable

how bike friendly is the area. i ride my bike often here in the states since i live in a small town. its not very bike friendly, but traffic isnt bad since the population is only 1800. what are gas prices like in the city per liter. (i think i spelled that right)

and Izzy's Mummy, i don't have an exact budget yet, since the process is still in early stages, so i am not exactly sure, (i don't know how this goes into australian dollars) the budget is probably going around 200,000 dollars in US money. that is not factoring flight costs and luggage transport.