+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default What am I entitled to?

Dear all,

I hope you can help me.

Hubby has two kids from previous marriage. A daughter he pays $1200 pm in child support and has 1/3 care. I get along with his daughter and her mum very well.

He also has an adult son who he pays $1000 for rent and other stuff. His mother does the same. He is 22 and doesn't work.

Hubby earns a good wage. Over 150k currently but it changes pending on how well his business does in any given year.

We own a house which we intended to sell. Profit would likely be $300k. The bank would take the remainder as its mortgaged.

I used to earn about 75k working full time. I also study full time. I am not intending to return to work until mid next year (currently on mat leave) but I am still studying full time while at home.

There has been a lot of tension and fighting going on between us and I am considering leaving. Now I am wondering what I would be entitled to from him and Centrelink before and after I am returning to work as I only wish to return to part time work until my Bub is a little older. Can I even do this? Is there anyone who I can talk to about my entitlements other than a lawyer? All I want is a quick run down on what benefits I can apply for etc.

I need to make sure Bub and I can afford a roof over our head and food. I have no high expectations but want to be able to live a normal life with Bub.

I have no family or friends I could stay with and not much savings.

Thanks in advance.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to TryingForNo1 For This Useful Post:

Barnaby  (11-10-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    You can test your eligibility using the centrelink online rate estimator. Put your circumstances in and it will . let you know what your eligible for. Look for single parent payment and family tax benefit. A lawyer can't give you anymore benefits than your entitled too.

Thanks