+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Unethical careers - spin off

The talk of Judd's chosen career path can got me thinking about 'unethical careers' (not necessarily saying hers is, but there is some some perception out there that it is).

Do you think less of friends and family who have careers that you think are unethical?

Have you ever done things as part of your job that didn't align with your morals but did them anyway for the sake of your career?

Thanks
    Reviews

As a lawyer I've definitely done things that are perfectly legal - and in fact are required by my duty to the client and court - but are not in keeping with my own morals and ethics.

It can be very difficult emotionally and is one of the reasons I would prefer to not do criminal defence work again. That said criminal law while being an obvious area where this internal conflict occurs is not the only one!

Edit - oh and I've definitely had people judge me for it! Some have been downright nasty to my face about it

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Edit: I read the question wrong
    Last edited by atomicmama; 07-10-2016 at 10:23.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Busiest Member of the Week - week ended 17/10/14100 Posts in a week
    Some finance industry jobs are on the nose for me. People who push products on to people who can't afford them. People who make money off placing people in financial strain.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sonja For This Useful Post:

cheeeeesecake  (07-10-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    200 Posts in a weekBusiest Member of the Week100 Posts in a week
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonja View Post