+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Flying 36 weeks pregnant

Hi,

I have a family engagement in Brisbane and I will be 35 almost 36 weeks. I'll have to fly from Melbourne to Brisbane and I'm just wondering if any of you have flown at this gestation without any complications?

I know I'm allowed to fly through the different airlines and if my gp gives me a letter to state certain information but I was just after anyone's experiences I'll have my toddler with me but also other family members so we will have back up baby sitters!

Thanks
    Reviews

Default Flying 36 weeks pregnant

I'm "only" 22 weeks but with twins so belly looks bigger and as a frequent flyer for work the answer really comes down to whether you're going to be comfortable enough at that late stage.

At the moment I still fly every week, whether for one night or a few nights and it has become very very exhausting, even though I'm an expert at this and have my routine down pat.

I think the biggest issue is whether you're really comfortable enough that nothing would happen whilst flying, as that's the main reason why they want the letter to show there is a low risk of anything going wrong with you. Although no one can ever guarantee this...

Having said the above, Melbourne to Brisbane is "only" two hours.

It's a hard decision. I've decided not to fly after 30 weeks. You said you will have family with you though to help with your toddler, but won't make a difference if something were to go wrong.

Just remember if something happens whilst in Brisbane then you will be stuck in a different state having a baby.

Good luck with your decision!
    Last edited by baby245; 15-08-2016 at 20:05.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I would be hesitant to fly this far along...prob because i had ds2 early. Bwst to check with your ob/gp.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Tinkers For This Useful Post:

Carpe diem 2013  (15-08-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews