+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Shiftworking families

Hi i am a nurse & DP is a chef - so less than friendly hours. Just wondering how other shiftworking nurses have managed with their return to work & childcare arrangements.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    I only have 1 child but my parents help out with the babysitting because I work night shift. I sleep when kiddo is at school pending on what I have to do during the day but always have a sleep in the arvo and kiddo will wake me at 6ish to cook dinner. Doesn't sound ideal but it works for us currently.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Myztiks#1Fan For This Useful Post:

Kazzy36  (28-07-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

My mum. Otherwise I couldn't of done it and would of had to quit to find something with more suitable hours.
    I'm fortunate I have that option, I appreciate many don't.
    Last edited by Little Miss Sunshine; 28-07-2016 at 18:46.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    We don't use Childcare as I only work night duty or weekends. If I do evening shift during the week I don't start until 4:30pm. We don't have family nearby. Could you consider an au pair or look at a registered carer?

Thanks
    Reviews
    My parents mind my girls when I'm on nights

Thanks
    Reviews
    I'm not a nurse, but my job is shift work. At the moment we're managing by:
    1. DP has the kids when I'm at work (he runs his own business from home)
    2. I do 3 shifts a week
    3. I work evening shifts only atm. There's enough demand for staff that I can pick and choose.
    4. 1 of my shifts is on Saturday, so there are only 2 shifts where DP would otherwise be working.

Thanks
    Reviews