+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Tell me about relationship counselling

So - tell me about relationship counselling.

Have you been? If you're comfortable saying - why did you go? Did it help?

How many sessions did you go for? Was it expensive? I presume it's not covered by the mental health care plans you can get from the GP so psychologist sessions are cheaper?

Do you know if your counsellor used any particular specific types of technique with you, and if so, what was it?

Thanks in advance

Thanks
    Reviews
    Bump for the evening crowd

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Cost and techniques depend on where you go.

I've heard that Relationships Australia have a particular style of counselling that is different from other places. I heard this from my lawyer. I can't elaborate because I have no experience with them. I'm not sure about the costs.

I got a mental health plan from the GP and we went to a psychologist. The psychologist saw us together and separately.

In terms of was it worth it. Not really for me. I had already mentally checked out of the relationship and in hindsight I was looking for someone to tell me my reasons for wanting to leave were good enough. I was in a DV situation though and would have been better off just packing my bags and leaving. Telling exdh I wanted to go to counselling gave him advance notice I wanted out and resulted in him ramping up the abuse.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Wow, I'm sorry to hear that, @SSecret Squirrel.

Thankfully, no DV here. Just unhappiness, verbal fighting, and not communicating well. We both want to work on it - so hopefully we can.

Interesting to hear you were able to get a mental health plan from the GP - might have to check that out.

Thanks
    Reviews