getting paid - wdyt | Bub Hub
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week

Default getting paid - wdyt

I'm currently on mat leave, due to return to work on 1 sept. my old boss sold his business and I'll be going back and working for a new guy (same building). they're currently in the phase of office transition...all the logistical stuff like moving files, culling paperwork etc. a colleague texted me on Monday to ask about some client related stuff. he finished off his text (half jokingly) saying if I felt like it, there was plenty to be done in terms of filing, culling etc. I'm an accountant, so filing etc is not part of my usual job description.

anyway I thought about it and concluded if I went in for a few hours it could be good as a getting warmed up to go back to work plus gets me out the house (dh will look after ds on this day) plus I'll make a bit of money.

I texted the colleague back to say I was keen. I then followed up the new boss as I'd not heard anything and wanted to know whether I had Friday free for planning purposes.

in my email I stated I was free to come in and lend a hand etc. in the second paragraph, I stated I was happy to discuss a day rate or just invoice him as I have an abn. either way, I felt the email communicated the expectation this was paid work and not me just volunteering my time for free.

he responded and said yes see you Friday "sometime". no mention of pay.

the fact that no specific hours were stated plus dodging the remuneration aspect makes me think he thinks I'm coming in for free (therefore not fazed how many hours I do, when I come in/go home).