+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Do I lodge a tax return?

This is my first time as a single parent on centrelink at tax time. I receive the single parent payment and child support and earnt a small amount (maybe $3000) for the year. What do i do about tax this year? Are centrelink payments or child support classed as income? Do i receive a statement? Confused.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Some centrelink payments are. And i think earning that little you would be under the threshold. Have you got your payment summary yet? If so and you have a my gov account go over there and go to lodge return. Its just all prefilled for you including all yoir centrelink benefits and they list which ones are and are not taxable. Its super easy I did mine this afternoon.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to sunnyflower For This Useful Post:

NAT2561  (10-07-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    How does the payment summary arrive? I have one for the small amount i earnt but haven't received anything from centrelink. ..will this arrive through email on centrelink app?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    You generate your own summary through the app...its under statements...they don't send them our anymore. SPP is taxable but if you haven't paid tax on that $3000 then yoi need to go online and state that you don't nees to lodge a tax return. But like other pp said...do it through my gov as it's all pre-filled.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NAT2561 View Post
    How does the payment summary arrive? I have one for the small amount i earnt but haven't received anything from centrelink. ..will this arrive through email on centrelink app?