+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Anyone have a Science degree?

I am in a bit of a pickle at the moment and am hoping hubbers can help me. I started studying nursing at uni this year but now first semester is over, I'm not sure that nursing will be the career for me...

I absolutely loved the biology component of the course and did really well in all of my assessments. I am now thinking of switching to a science degree but am not sure that I can do much with it in the end? Although I'm sure I would love the course, I don't want to waste 3-4 years studying and find that I can't really make a career out of it iykwim?

I have made an appt with the careers counsellor at uni but I was hoping for some real world advice from hubbers beforehand so I can make a more informed decision 😊

Thanks
    Reviews
    Yes I have a bachelor's in environmental science degree that I finished last year

3. The Following User Says Thank You to flowers21 For This Useful Post:

Little Boys Blue  (01-07-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I have an environmental science degree and work in the oil industry. There were great career prospects for science grads when I finished uni 10 years ago, however, not so anymore. There are still jobs out there, just not nearly as many.

What type of science were you thinking of studying?

5. The Following User Says Thank You to babyno1onboard For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Reviews
    Opps pressed enter to fast. I am about to start my masters in July as I am not ready to enter the work force as I have a 10 month old and daycare is extremely expensive where we live. There are heaps and heaps of different fields that I can go into with this degree including mining, consulting, politics, national parks and other government jobs, research and many others