+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Getting induced tomorrow!!!

So I'm getting induced tomorrow at 7am as they have recently discovered today that I have pre eclampsia. I'm 1-2cm dilated and I was wondering if when they put the small instrument in if it hurts or? (not as I'm not very good with pain). I'll also be getting put on an iv drip with the hormones that'll start contractions, I've heard that they can be unbearable so I'll more than likely be getting an epidural as it seems to be most effective. Has anyone ever been through this before, and if so how long did labour last? Did the water breakage hurt?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Have you seen the instrument before? It is like a crochet hook. I did not find that any internals hurt personally. But that's me.

Labour hurts. Do not think of the pain now. Just see how you go. Stay as calm and relaxed as you can. That can help with labour progression and even pain if you just stay calm.

Try and get sleep now. You'll do great.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to twinklify For This Useful Post:

Chlozzalove  (03-06-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Oh and it dies not hurt when the water breaks. You just feel like you wet yourself.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Oh and you cannot predict the length of labour. It is *usually* advised to be as active as you can during labour as gravity can help.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I was induced twice. Only once I had my waters broken by OB and I did not find it painful. I also had the drip and my active labor was 4hrs. As pp said, try to relax and just go with it because it will help reduce the pain. You know the epidural option is available so use it if you need and want to. You are meeting your baby tomorrow - how wonderful!

Thanks
    Reviews