+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Paid Parental Leave - Casual worker

Hi all,

My situation is this, I work as a casual for a retail company. Last year in November I was transferred from store location A to store location B due to moving closer to location B. Not long after I found out I was pregnant and due to incredible and terrible morning sickness (including hospitalisation) I was off work sick for about 13 weeks. When I was feeling well again in March I contacted both my new home store (store B) as well as my old store A to let them know I was well enough (and needy enough) to pick up any shifts. From then on I have only been offered shifts from store A. Since then the manager and regional for my new home store (B) have changed more than once.

Now I know I qualify for an exception to the work test (for the 8+ week gap) and will have no problems in getting the required Dr's certs, but due to so much change in management and not having any recent shifts at my home store, I'm finding it hard to get a letter from my employer to back up my story from their end. All it needs to say is that I was on unpaid sick leave due to pregnancy complications, I was still employed during that time and I would have gotten shifts had it not been for the complications relating to pregnancy. Nobody in management now at my home store knows me or my situation, so I do sort of understand their hesitance, but I'm not asking anyone to lie, just tell me who i need to contact. Nobody wants to touch it.

So I guess I just need to start thinking realistically when it comes to my application. And I have been. I think I'm just grasping at straws now.

Anyone qualify for the exception from the work test and get approved with just Dr's Cert? I'm not hopeful but it doesn't hurt to ask. Any advice?

Thanks
    Reviews