Moral quandary | Bub Hub
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Moral quandary

Hi ladies! (And fellas? And others? I get the impression that it's mostly ladies around these parts--which is nice!)

Long-time lurker, first time poster. I'll do my best with all the groovy customary abbreviations, but please be patient with my inevitable clumsiness.

I feel that I need to consult the collective wisdom on the matter of whether I am, for lack of a better term, "morally justified" in having a second child. It's a long post, I know--I promise I do get to the point eventually.

DH and I fell pregnant (unexpectedly) a few years back and now have a wonderful, 4-year-old DS. I was an undergraduate student at the time, and he was a full-time hospitality worker.

DH has since gotten fed up with minimum-wage drudgery and is now studying law. I have finished my degree with first class honours, although that doesn't mean much, as I studied in the most wildly obscure and esoteric field imaginable. Seemed like a good idea coming out of high school; however, my employment prospects (in academia) resemble the odds of survival of a snowball in hell. My options are to either a) subject myself to a PhD (which would, admittedly, be something I would perversely enjoy) and then wait around for a decade, picking up the occasional tutoring job, until someone in my field drops off the tree, fight tooth and nail for their job (assuming the university chooses not to just shut down the department at that point), and then do that job for half the pay under borderline-exploitative conditions; or b) pick a different career.