+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Struggling working part time

Hi everyone,

I am just after a place to vent and maybe some advice.

I have an 11 month old and a three year old and a month ago I went back to work part time. I am a teacher and I am working a five day fortnight. This is my dream job, I have my own class and share the responsibility of running my service. I really wanted to stay home longer with my second son but I just felt that I needed to get back into work for me. Also, we have some debts and we really need to clear them. I was excited to go back to work but a month in I feel like I am drowning. My house is a bomb, I can't keep on top of the housework side. I feel like I never get anything completed at work because I am rushing around to get my boys. I feel like all I do is rush around and I am so exhausted at the end of the day. My husband helps when he can but he has a very demanding job and he isn't home a lot at night and can't get away to help in the afternoons.

I really want to work for the company I am with and I have done lots of contracts with them in previous years but this is a permanent job. I feel like I am just doing a half a55ed job all round and I'm not sure if I should quit and try again when the boys are older.

Does anyone have any advice? Will it get easier as I get into a better routine?

Thanks for reading ☺️

Thanks
    Reviews
    Let me first say being a working mum is hard. It always will be - that mummy guilt really does kick in!!!
    I have always had the same feelings as you - it's either family or work that seems to be missing my best potential however you have only just started so you still are trying to work out your new routine. I'm not a teacher so can't help on that side