+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default OPINIONS WANTED.. Taking time off work

Who should take time off work to look after sick Lo?

I am a school teacher who works full time. DH is a farmer who is currently sowing so working big hours.
    Our DS is sick atm, I took the day off work and took him to the doctors today. He has a chest infection so will not be going to daycare Thursday (tomorrow) or Friday. We have somebody to care for him tomorrow but nobody for Friday. Who should have to take work off for the day? DH or Me?
    I text DH earlier and said seeing I took the day off today, could he please have DS Friday. He said 'I would but I'm sowing'. I then replied and said 'I have work to do too' and got no reply.
    I know what's going to end up happening, I would love to hear your opinions though!!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    i'd say take it in turns. but him more so.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Busiest Member of the Week - week ended 29/5/15Busiest Member of the WeekBusiest Member of the Week100 Posts in a week
    We take it in turns at our house.

TheGooch is offline Winner 2014 - Newbie of the Year
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    My DH is ALWAYS taking time off when DS needs it. This is so I can fulfill my obligations at work. DH is a farmer. I'm the CEO of a charity.
    However, there are two times a year when I don't expect DH to take days off and that's sowing and harvest. For us, he can't be flexible during those times. Because there is no one who can do it for him. He also doesn't get paid sick/carers/annual leave. But I do.

But that's what works for our family. And it's balanced out during the rest of the year.