+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Coconut oil for skin, what uses?

Ok so I'm fairly new to the coconut oil trend but am converted for cooking and now want to find out how it can be used for beauty. Initially I bought a jar of refined coconut oil (not virgin) as I didn't really know the difference but have since moved onto virgin oil. The small amount I had left from the original jar I put in a bottle to try on my skin. So far I've only tried it on my legs in the shower and on my hair. Both not successful. My legs were really dry and the oil just seemed to sit on the skin rather than be absorbed at all and my hair just became very greasy when dry.
    So is it just because I'm using non virgin oil? Or is this what normally happens and I need to use it differently, ie on dry skin and hair??

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I use virgin oil and use just a little bit on my hair when dry. I find it sits on the skin for a little while but does absorb. I use it on my face day & night and its amazing. My skin has this glow about it. Its organic and no crap in it, its just coconut! And its cheap. Love coconut oil. I use it as a lip balm too ☺

3. The Following User Says Thank You to SoThisIsLove For This Useful Post:

nh2489  (11-04-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews
    I have used raw organic, cold pressed coconut oil on DS after the bath since he was a newborn and he has never had an issue with his skin. I use a small amount rubbed between my hands to smooth down my hair somedays and also as a lip balm. I did try the 'oil cleansing method' to 'wash' my face with coconut oil but it didn't work for me - I switched to unrefined hemp oil. Every now and then use it as a moisturiser on body at night.
    And cook with it!

5. The Following User Says Thank You to michellead For This Useful Post:

nh2489  (11-04-2016)

Thanks
    Reviews