+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Family friendly studies??

I've been sahm for 8 years. I'm 43 now and feel scared for my future job prospects. We could afford for me to study but as well as hardly any time to research career / study options I feel I frequently find road blocks when I delve further into possible options. Eg - fieldwork placements that would require me to work full time for 2 week or more with a push to place students in remote areas; no clear indication of timetables so I could plan childcare etc... I don't want to be defeatist but it feels like industry doesn't want mums who dared to take time out to look after their kids and even finding so many obstacles to studying.
    Anyways I just wonder if anyone has any knowledge of areas of study that are genuinely flexible and manageable with family?? I have a degree and masters in psychology but latest is more than 10 years old so no longer any point pursuing a role in psychology (too competitive anyway).

Thanks
    Reviews
    I know with working in early education centre's, majority of them will offer before/after school and holiday care at a discounted rate to staff members needing it. A few offer it for free. Which can work out if you have to open the centre early one week, so start at 7, and finish earlier so you get the afternoon with your child. They usually rotate the shifts, either every second week or weekly, so the next week you may start later, so you get the morning with your child, but finish at closing, which usually us 6 or 7. You then have the option of taking your child with you in the mornings, or getting your child picked up from school and taken to your work if working the later shift. Its helpful to try for centres that are around your childs school for this.