+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Working in age care, hours cut dramatically.

Hi all. I have been working in aged care for 2 years as a casual and despite numerous e-mails and meetings with the manager, I have never been able to secure permanent employment due to there being nothing available at all. I have been averaging 80 hours a fortnight as a casual for 2 years and all of a sudden I have found the hours im getting cut dramatically. The past few fortnights i have only had 49, 56 and 43 hours. What can I do?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    Have they done a big recruitment lately? I found when i was a casual, i would only get rostered 3 or 4 shifts a fortnight then when they called me up i would have to say yes because they know i depend on the hours but luckily i part time and have been a few years.

Are the shifts you have been doing, are they the same shifts every week? If there is consistancy with the shifts, they cant deny you going part time. Are you in the union? The union can talk to them on your behalf. Also check your EBA agreement because in ours, if it shows we have been doing consistant shifts, we can move on from being casual to part time(my employer no longer hires full time).

Thanks
    Reviews
    Yes, two of the arvos n one morning i have done the exact shift for a year, but the person who has the shift has been on light duties, so they cant give it to me.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Unfortunately that's the nature of being casual, you are not guaranteed hours.

You say you work close to 80 hours a fortnight? Are most of these call ins or rostered? Do you say yes every time they ring? Maybe they are keen to keep you casual as they rely on you to cover shifts....using and abusing you.