+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts

Default Striving to be a better mum.

May be a weird title but I've decided this is absolutely what I need to do. I want to make some promises to myself and Dd and make sure that I put all of the effort in to living up to those promises. I thought others might like to join me?

I am going to be brutally honest here.

Last night I had a moment, a moment that had be in tears quite unexpectedly.

I view myself as a good mum, my Dd is happy, she has everything she wants and needs in the scheme of things.

I have been working full time for a couple of months and am out of the house 12 hours a day 5 days a week. I obviously love coming home to see my Dd, but a lot of the time I am tired, cranky and a bit unmotivated when it comes to routine.

Dd probably stays up too late, and dinners aren't always as healthy as they should be, I pretty much let her do as she pleases while I sit on my lazy bum and try and unwind.

My job is not physically demanding, I enjoy it and it will ensure that I am securing a decent career in the future but I am away from Dd a lot and don't think I've been putting in enough effort to give Dd the quality time she needs and deserves.

I looked at her last night, just happily playing and I cried, I cried because she has to go to daycare at 6.30am, I cried because she plays all day with other people and other kids and I'm not there. So I bundled her up and cuddled her to sleep. She sleeps with me every night but I just had a moment where I needed her to know I was there and I needed to know she was there.

I'm going to make an effort to implement a better routine, that involves me completely.

I'm going to read to her more and sing to her more and play with her more.