+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Crises during pregnancy (father has cancer, caring for disabled mother, DH overseas)

Hello. I'm a newbie on these boards, seeking advice for coping with stress and trauma during pregnancy. I'm in a very complicated situation, and would be interested to hear stories from people who have gone through some of these issues when pregnant.

I'm Australian, currently 21 weeks pregnant, and have been living in Japan for the past few years and I planned to have my baby there (I am covered by the Japanese national health insurance, I do not have PHI). I came to Adelaide to get married this November with my Japanese fiancé, and the day before I arrived in Australia, my father was rushed to hospital with a sudden serious illness. At first, it appeared to be a stomach and liver infection. He was so ill he was unable to attend our wedding. We have recently found out he has stomach cancer that has spread to the liver, which I understand is Stage 4 cancer. We meet the doctors this week to be told his full prognosis and treatment options, but apparently treatment is limited as the docs say he cannot have chemo due to an abscess, and stomach surgery will be a major, high-risk op for him with a long recovery period.

My father is the primary caregiver for my disabled mother. Since I have been here for my wedding, I have been caring for my mother while he was in hospital, and now I am looking after both parents (although my dad is doing fairly well right now and can do most things by himself). My husband has had to return to Japan for work (and does not have the visa to live here), and I am currently taking unpaid leave from my job indefinitely. I am an only child, and the only family support we have is from an elderly relative, so I do not want to ask her for help, although she has been very kind and is helping where she can.