+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default No periods?

Hi, I'm a long term reader of this forum but it's my first time posting.
    I'm a mum to one little girl who is 5 😊 My husband and I were thinking of trying for a 2nd in the new year, I'm worried that might not be a possibility with how my cycle has just disappeared, so I thought I'd post here to see if anyone has been in a similar situation.

Has anyone else just had their periods stop with no medical explanation?

I have endometriosis and my periods are generally very heavy, long, usually arrive early, but I've not had my period come for 5 months now, nothing.
    No spotting or period pains, just nothing.

I've had blood tests done, ultrasounds, Pap smear and thin prep and all sorts and the only thing they found was a 7cm follicular cyst on my left ovary. Which hasn't gone by itself in the past 3 months.

I came off the implant 7 months ago as I had bleeding the whole time, I had 2 periods and now nothing.

My gynaecologist has said a follicular cyst won't cause changes in my cycle, but because it hasn't gone by itself I will need to have it removed, I'm on a waiting list right now and have no idea how long it will take to be removed.
    He has also said my ultrasounds and blood tests show no signs of PCOS.

I'm definitely not pregnant as I've just had a blood test and they checked HCG, I just had an ultrasound too.

I just want my period back.
    I'm so worried there could be something more going on.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    It could possibly be your endometriosis? I know when I was younger my periods would be all over the shop if I wasn't on the pill, my gyno put this down to the endo. The other thing could be if you were on the pill for years, that could also mess things around. Hopefully it will come back really soon so you can start trying for baby # 2.

Thanks
    Reviews